Mister Adam - YEAAARGH (Last Minute Goal)

CHF 50.00

incl. tax, plus shipping
In stock
Shipping time: 7 day(s)

Description

A2 200 g Screen print, Edition of 25 numbered, Designed by Mister Adam, 2020.
Measurements: 420 x 594mm. A2 Poster without frame.


Titel: YEAAARGH (Last Minute Goal)


In his life, a man can change wives, political parties or religions but he cannot change his favourite football team.
- Eduardo Galeano

Many years ago I read a book about brazilian football, called The Divine Canary, written by a dutch translator from Portuguese, August Willemsen.This book was a revelation: it was the first time I read about football, not in the newspaper or a magazine, but in a book: I realized football is so much more, it is even be a literary subject. Willemsen draws on the work of some great Brazilian writers and poets to lay bare the soul of Brazilian football and with it the soul of the land where he spent many years of his life.The book made clear to me what I have always felt as player and as a fan: football is supernatural, it is (to quote Eduardo Galeano once again) “a shared celebration or a shipwreck that takes us all down”.
My contribution to the FC Stylez exhibition is a handprinted typographic poster. I have decided to combine two dramatic cries: the euforic YEAH blends with the desperate ARGH, and they become one, because celebration and despair are closely related in football: one moment you think your team is qualifying, the next moment your opponent scores the last-minute equalizer, and its all over…


Mister Adam


Mister Adam (aka Adam Oostenbrink) is a graphic designer, printmaker, and design educator based in Amsterdam, The Netherlands. From his studio/printshop he is creating multi-disciplinary works for a wide range of clients. Using both digital and analog techniques, his type-o-graphic style is unstrained, colorful, lively and outspoken.
Mister Adam has been working for global brands like Nikon, TNT Worldwide and Adidas, but also initiates personal projects that are all about experiment, research, collaboration, and high quality handmade limited editions. His work has been involved in a number of publications and exhibitions.


www.misteradamtype.com

Mister Adam - YEAAARGH (Last Minute Goal)

CHF 50.00

inkl. MwSt. zzgl. Versand
Auf Lager
Lieferzeit: 7 Tag(e)

Beschreibung

200 g Screen print, Edition of 25 numbered, Designed by Mister Adam, 2020. Measurements: 420 x 594mm. A2 Poster without frame.


Titel: YEAAARGH (Last Minute Goal)


In seinem Leben kann ein Mann Ehefrauen, politische Parteien oder Religionen wechseln, aber niemals seine Lieblingsfussballmannschaft. - Eduardo Galeano


Vor vielen Jahren las ich ein Buch vom Niederländer August Willemsen über den brasilianischen Fussball mit dem Titel «Der göttliche Kanarienvogel». Das Buch war eine Offenbarung: Es war das erste Mal, dass ich über Fussball las, nicht in der Zeitung oder einer Zeitschrift, sondern in einem Buch und mir wurde klar: Fussball ist so viel mehr, sogar die Hauptrolle in einem Buch. Willemsen greift auf das Werk einiger grosser brasilianischer Schriftsteller zurück, um die Seele des brasilianischen Fussballs und damit auch die Seele des Landes zu enthüllen, in dem er viele Jahre seines Lebens verbrachte. Das Buch zeigte mir, was ich als Spieler und als Fan immer empfunden habe: Der Fussball ist übernatürlich, er ist (um noch einmal Eduardo Galeano zu zitieren) "eine gemeinsame Feier oder ein Schiffbruch, der uns alle zu Fall bringt".


Mein Beitrag zur Ausstellung FC Stylez ist ein handbedrucktes typografisches Poster. Ich verbinde damit zwei dramatische Schreie: das euphorische YEAH verschmilzt mit dem verzweifelten ARGH, und sie werden eins, denn Feiern und Verzweiflung sind im Fussball eng miteinander verbunden: In einem Moment glaubt man, die eigene Mannschaft hätte sich qualifiziert, im nächsten Moment erzielt der Gegner ein Tor in letzter Minute, und alles ist vorbei...


MISTER ADAM


Mister Adam (aka Adam Oostenbrink) ist Grafikdesigner und Designpädagoge in Amsterdam. Von seinem Studio und seiner Druckerei aus schafft er multidisziplinäre Arbeiten für eine Vielzahl von Kunden. Sein Typ-O-Grafik-Stil ist ungezwungen, farbenfroh, lebendig und offen. Er hat für globale Marken wie Nikon, TNT Worldwide und Adidas gearbeitet, initiiert aber auch eigene Projekte. Mister Adam war an einer Vielzahl von Veröffentlichungen und Ausstellungen beteiligt.


www.misteradamtype.com